What’s it really worth?

The show ‘It’s Worth What!?’ tries to make people guess what some crazy items are worth. The items range from clothes, to antique furniture, to live animals. While an entertaining show, the premise is simple and the pricing is subjective, I think everyone agrees on that. Markets for everything fluctuate, regardless if they are stocks or antiques.

Today really got me thinking how much things are really worth. In the grand scheme of things, not so much. When this life here is over, how valuable is a solid gold golf club? I can tell you it isn’t worth the $1800+/oz you might think.

7 But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ.
8 Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ
9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith-
10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death,
11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.
Phil 3:7-11

The glory of these earthly items and treasures pale in comparison to the perfect one who made them.

I am a person who buys something (manmade) new, looks at it , and spots the smallest flaw in it. Imagine looking at the most perfect being in all of creation, who created everything flawless from the beginning, and trying to find flaw. It can’t be done. Not only that, he fulfills every need, every want, every desire you could ever have.

Death is inevitable, heartbreaking, and painful. But ‘We will cross over unharmed.*’ Praise Christ, the living God for the eternity he has given us. The most glorious day we will ever encounter is the one we fear the most.

*Thrice – Disarmed

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

